Magnic iC contactless bicycle lights review

https://youtu.be/JzlPjIh-xCM

More thoughts below:

I see them get up to their maximum brightness quickly and I don’t see any noticable increase in brightness with speed.
I like the design, the manufacturing, the concept, the product as a package, fiddly installation is one time only, I don’t commit to much but with these I’m committed to one bike :D

The major issue for me in a light, is maximum brightness with the pencil beam is reminiscent of 1997 with a CatEye halogen and a bidon sized auxiliary pack running D cells in the down tube cage. You get to see the light on your path in front to know you’ve got one and that it’s on, but any bend in the path or an unknown surface variation (like sand washed across the path) it’s just not bright enough to really see much on its own.
I have the left headlight angled nearer straight ahead so in pitch black there’s a hint of reflection off parked car tail lights, street signs etc. and you can see from left to right (as the tyre blocks each half) that it’s not doing it on the oncoming path. Handy where the lighting is sparse white street lights, but you have to be looking to notice it. The right beam is overlapping half the left beam at oncoming cycle path friendly level so its mostly reflecting off the path.

I usually have a Cygolite Expilion 350 that my Contour Roam 2 is taped to, practically covers most of my needs, but have had to swap it around to fit on the road bars. I’m using single light clamp I move the light/camera between all bikes, day or night as I use the strobe for daytime, and really suits all onroad/offroad situations, though I have the light in the video that is my preferred light, but auxiliary battery mean I’d only bother using it for dedicated offroad night riding, not sunset or dawn ride overlap to darkness.

The Magnic iC suit this road bike for coastal shared path riding daytime and sunset, as a full time light with higher power Cygolite on low for a higher point, and up to high for the darker unlit streets. It’s a narrow product “tick” scenario, but it works. Not blinding rear light but active braking is nice to know when you have a tail feather following, and should be enough for faster riders passing. The front lights are “be seen” as well as some path reflection so you have forward presence to anyone looking back or oncoming.

It’s good to see it’s employed the inventor as a business and the technology is maturing with the wishes for personal electronics trickle charging on the development roadmap. It has the “free perpetual energy” charisma that attracts lots of people to solar, without the large surface area required. I have since gone back a little further to my youth and got into friction bottle dynamos to keep the cost down on the rare scenarios off-grid when my battery devices may not go the distance and I want lighting or charging (have a Luxos U to be installed/tested).

I’m also eager to see the Ding bike light next year nearing completion, they’re testing at 800 lumen, has improved a lot in production and is another pair of lights I’ll have to hopefully be able to leave some on bikes instead of swapping over between onroad/offroad, fat/skinny, pedal/electric etc. etc.

This entry was posted in dynamo-lighting, headlight, lights, Magnic-iC, tail light. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

